Global Policy Forum

Angola: UN Adopts Resolution on South Atlantic Peace, Co-Operation Zone

Angola Press Agency
September 16, 2007

The United Nations General Assembly passed last Thursday a resolution on the South Atlantic Peace and Co-operation Zone, which was introduced by the Angolan permanent representative to the UN, Ismael Martins, a document that was approved by consensus, after a constructive dialogue. The adopted resolution reaffirms that peace, security and development are interconnected and interdependent matters and it extols the efforts of members states towards achieving the goals outlined for the Zone.

The document underlines that the South Atlantic Peace and Co-operation Zone is a mechanism to strengthen the relationship among members and commends the holding of the Sixth Ministerial Meeting, which was held in Luanda on 18-19 June this year, in which was adopted the Luanda Declaration and the Luanda Action Plan. The same document asks the specialized organizations, the funds and UN system programs, to give all the necessary support to the members of the Zone, in their efforts to implement the Luanda Action Plan.

Ismael Martins reminded the participants to the UN General Assembly meeting that the mentioned "constitutes a mechanism of efficient inter-regional co-operation in the areas of development, peace and security among the 24 member states." These 24 states, he said, are committed to contributing to the eradication of poverty, and in favor of establishing partnerships for sustainable development. The Angolan diplomat added that in the field of crime prevention and fight against illegal trafficking of drugs, illicit trade of weapons, organised trans-national crime, including piracy, the referred group of states are engaged in reinforcing security in their borders, as well as in implementing policies and systems to control the circulation of illegal weapons.

Acknowledging the paramount role of the United Nations in the field of peace keeping operations, the president of the Zone's Standing Committee declared that the member states of the Zone are committed to strengthening their capacity to participate in peace keeping operations. Thus, he reasserted the need to utilise the regional and international centers of training in regard to marine resources, including those ones that are beyond their territorial waters.

The Atlantic South Peace and Co-operation Zone was created in 1986 by the UN General Assembly. It comprises Angola, the current president, Argentina, o Benin, Brazil, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo Brazzaville, Cí´te d'Ivoire and the Democratic Republic of Congo. The Zone also includes Equatorial-Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, Sí£o Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo and Uruguay.



FAIR USE NOTICE: This page contains copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Global Policy Forum distributes this material without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. We believe this constitutes a fair use of any such copyrighted material as provided for in 17 U.S.C § 107. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.