Global Policy Forum

Elected Members of the Security Council

[Otherwise known as the "Non-Permanent Members"]


Notes on Membership | More Information on Membership

Term in CouncilMember States
Jan 2012-Dec 2014 Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo
Jan 2011-Dec 2013 Colombia, Germany, India, Portugal and South Africa
Jan 2010-Dec 2012 Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Gabon, Lebanon and Nigeria
Jan 2009-Dec 2011 Austria, Japan, Mexico, Turkey and Uganda
Jan 2008-Dec 2009 Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Croatia, Libya and Vietnam
Jan 2007-Dec 2008 Belgium, Indonesia, Italy, South Africa, Panama
Jan 2006-Dec 2007 Congo, Ghana, Peru, Qatar, Slovakia
Jan 2005-Dec 2006 Argentina, Denmark, Greece, Japan, United Republic of Tanzania
Jan 2004-Dec 2005 Algeria, Benin, Brazil, Philippines and Romania
Jan 2003-Dec 2004 Angola, Chile, Germany, Pakistan and Spain
Jan 2002-Dec 2003 Bulgaria, Cameroon, Guinea, Mexico, and Syria
Jan 2001-Dec 2002 Colombia, Ireland, Mauritius, Norway, Singapore
Jan 2000-Dec 2001 Bangladesh, Jamaica, Mali, Tunisia, Ukraine
Jan 1999-Dec 2000 Argentina, Canada, Malaysia, Namibia, Netherlands
Jan 1998-Dec 1999 Bahrain, Brazil, Gabon, Gambia, Slovenia
Jan 1997-Dec 1998 Costa Rica, Japan, Kenya, Portugal, Sweden
Jan 1996-Dec 1997 Chile, Egypt, Guinea-Bissau, Poland, Rep. Korea
Jan 1995-Dec 1996 Botswana, Germany, Honduras, Indonesia, Italy
Jan 1994-Dec 1995 Argentina, Czech Republic(1), Nigeria, Oman, Rwanda
Jan 1993-Dec 1994 Brazil, Djibouti, New Zealand, Pakistan, Spain
Jan 1992-Dec 1993 Cape Verde, Hungary, Japan, Morocco, Venezuela
Jan 1991-Dec 1992 Austria, Belgium, Ecuador, India, Zimbabwe
Jan 1990-Dec 1991 Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Romania, Yemen, Zaire
Jan 1989-Dec 1990 Canada, Colombia, Ethiopia, Finland, Malaysia
Jan 1988-Dec 1989 Algeria, Brazil, Nepal, Senegal, Yugoslavia
Jan 1987-Dec 1988 Argentina, Germany, Italy, Japan, Zambia
Jan 1986-Dec 1987 Bulgaria, Congo, Ghana, UAE, Venezuela
Jan 1985-Dec 1986 Australia, Denmark, Madagascar, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago
Jan 1984-Dec 1985 Burkina Faso, Egypt, India, Peru, Ukraine
Jan 1983-Dec 1984 Malta, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Pakistan
Jan 1982-Dec 1983 DR Congo, Guyana, Jordan, Poland, Togo
Jan 1981-Dec 1982 Ireland, Japan, Panama, Spain, Uganda
Jan 1980-Dec 1981 German Democratic Republic, Mexico, Niger, Philippines, Tunisia
Jan 1979-Dec 1980 Bangladesh, Jamaica, Norway, Portugal, Zambia
Jan 1978-Dec 1979 Bolivia, Gabon, Kuwait, Nigeria, Czechoslovakia(1)
Jan 1977-Dec 1978 Canada, Germany, India, Mauritius, Venezuela
Jan 1976-Dec 1977 Benin, Libyan AJ, Pakistan, Panama, Romania
Jan 1975-Dec 1976 Guyana, Italy, Japan, Sweden, UR of Tanzania
Jan 1974-Dec 1975 Belarus, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Iraq, Mauritania
Jan 1973-Dec 1974 Australia, Austria, Indonesia, Kenya, Peru
Jan 1972-Dec 1973 Guinea, India, Panama, Sudan, Yugoslavia
Jan 1971-Dec 1972 Argentina, Belgium, Italy, Japan, Somalia
Jan 1970-Dec 1971 Burundi, Nicaragua, Poland, Sierra Leone, Syria AR
Jan 1969-Dec 1970 Colombia, Finland, Nepal, Spain, Zambia
Jan 1968-Dec 1969 Algeria, Hungary, Pakistan, Paraguay, Senegal
Jan 1967-Dec 1968 Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Ethiopia, India
Jan 1966-Dec 1967 Argentina, Bulgaria, Japan, Mali, New Zealand (1966 only)*, Nigeria, Uganda (1966 only)* (3)
Jan 1965-Dec 1966 Jordan, Malaysia*, Netherlands, Uruguay
Jan 1964-Dec 1965 Bolivia, Côte d'Ivoire, Czechoslovakia (1964 only - resigned)(1)
Jan 1963-Dec 1964 Brazil, Morocco, Norway, Philippines (1963 only)*
Jan 1962-Dec 1963 Ghana, Ireland (1962 only)*, Venezuela, Romania (1962 only - resigned)*,
Jan 1961-Dec 1962 Chile, United Arab Republic (Egypt), Liberia (1961 only - resigned)*,
Turkey (1961 only)*
Jan 1960-Dec 1961 Ecuador, Poland (1960 only - resigned)*, Ceylon (Sri Lanka)
Jan 1959-Dec 1960 Argentina, Italy, Tunisia
Jan 1958-Dec 1959 Canada, Japan, Panama
Jan 1957-Dec 1958 Colombia, Philippines (1957 only)*, Sweden
Jan 1956-Dec 1957 Australia, Cuba, Iraq, Yugoslavia (1956 only - resigned)*
Jan 1955-Dec 1956 Belgium, Iran, Peru
Jan 1954-Dec 1955 Brazil, New Zealand, Turkey
Jan 1953-Dec 1954 Colombia, Denmark, Lebanon
Jan 1952-Dec 1953 Chile, Greece, Pakistan
Jan 1951-Dec 1952 Brazil, Netherlands, Turkey
Jan 1950-Dec 1951 Ecuador, India, Yugoslavia
Jan 1949-Dec 1950 Cuba, Egypt, Norway
Jan 1948-Dec 1949 Argentina, Canada, Ukrainian SSR
Jan 1947-Dec 1948 Belgium, Colombia, Syrian AR(2)
Jan 1946-Dec 1947 Australia, Brazil, Egypt (1946 only), Mexico(1946 only), Netherlands(1946 only), Poland

Countries that have never served on the Council are not listed.
Sources - United Nations, and Bailey and Daws "The Procedure of the UN Security Council", 3rd Edition , Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1998. Compiled by Giji Gya.

* Split term
(1) Insofar as it formed part of Czechoslovakia until 31 December 1992, the Czech Republic also served on the Council in 1964 and 1978-79.
(2) Insofar as it formed part of the United Arab Republic until the end of September 1961, Syria also served on the council in 1961.
(3) One year term pursuant to elections held in accordance with article 23 (2) of the Charter.


The Security Council consists of five permanent members and ten non-permanent members, five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a term of two years. China, France, the Russian Federation, UK and USA are the permanent members. In electing the Council's non-permanent members, the Assembly is required by the Charter to pay due regard, in the first instance, to the contribution of UN members to the maintenance of international peace and security and to the other purposes of the organisation, and also to equitable geographical distribution. A retiring member is not eligible for immediate re-election.

The Presidency is held in turn by Council Member States in the English alphabetical order of their names, each holding office for one month.

By GA res. 1991A (XVIII)(1963), the Assembly adopted, and submitted for ratification by Member States of the UN, amendments to the Charter provisions relating to membership of the Council (articles 23 and 27). It was decided that the 10 non-permanent members should be elected according to the following pattern: five from African and Asian states; one from Eastern European states, two from Latin American and Caribbean states; and two from Western European and Other states.

These amendments took effect in 1965, having been ratified by more than two-thirds of UN members, including all the permanent members of the Security Council. The first expanded Council was elected in 1965.

NOTE: The Russian Federation informed the UN on 24 December 1991 that the membership of the Soviet Union in the Security Council and all other UN organs was being continued by it, and that the Russian Federation remains responsible in full for all the rights and obligations of the former Soviet Union.


FAIR USE NOTICE: This page contains copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Global Policy Forum distributes this material without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. We believe this constitutes a fair use of any such copyrighted material as provided for in 17 U.S.C § 107. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.